Mark
Ref# PHCO020

About Me
My name is Mark. I'm a 14-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 9, 2006.
Geography
Country

I live in The Philippines.

Program Partner Organization Name

Hemophilia Assoc. of Cagayan de Oro (PHCO)

Age Range

11 to 15

Diagnosis

Hemophilia A - Factor VIII

Severity

Severe

Monthly Family Income Range

$50-$100

My Story

Hello!

My name is Mark and I am 11 years old. I am in the 5th grade and my favorite subject is music. I enjoy participating in intramural sports at school. I hope to have a professional job one day. Outside of school, I like to play with my friends and watch TV.  

I have severe Hemophilia A, and I have three brothers that also have the condition. It is extremely difficult for my family to support all of our medical needs. The nearest hospital is 60km from my home. We need to take a jeepney to get there, which is an expensive trip. 


 

I live with my large family in El Salvador City. My father, Alfredo Sr., is 59 years old and works as a laborer to support our family. He earns an average of $78 a month, which is often not enough to meet the basic needs of our large family. My mother, Ludema, is 54 years old and she is a housewife. My oldest sister, Myra, is 25 years old and she lives at home. My older brothers, Alfredo Jr. (age 24), Nick (age 21), and Matt (age 13) all have hemophilia. We live in a small wooden house that is in poor condition. Repairs are needed to the walls and the roof. We have electricity and indoor plumbing but lack a refrigerator and a stove. Meals are cooked over a charcoal fire. 

I have been part of the sponsorship program since 2010. My previous sponsor recently discontinued their participation in the program and I am now in need of a new sponsor.