Muhammad
Ref# PKRP020

About Me
My name is Muhammad. I'm a 14-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 15, 2009.
Geography
Country

I live in Pakistan.

Program Partner Organization Name

Hemophilia Patients Welfare Society - Rawalpindi (PKRP)

Diagnosis

Hemophilia B - Factor IX

Severity

Severe

My Story

 

 

 

Hello!

This is Muhammad. He is 10 years old. He lives in Pakistan and has severe hemophilia B. He is in the 4th grade at school. He has missed about 12 days of school this past six months due to bleeds. These absences have made it harder for him to do well in school, but he works very hard and is making excellent progress. This past year, he received an award for excellent results at school. His favorite subject is math. He also loves to paint and when not in school he loves to play games. He would like to join the armed forces when he grows up.

He has fairly frequent pain and swelling in his left ankle and right elbow.  He also had 3 to 6 bleeding episodes from nose and mouth and often from the gums. His mom treats his minor bleeds at home.  When this doesn’t work or the bleed is severe he has to go to the hospital.  Often factor IX is unavailable or must be purchased from another city at much expense. 

 

 

 

He lives with his mother, grandmother, and  two aunts. an uncle and a cousin. His mother is a teacher and his uncle is a shopkeeper. His aunt is a student, finishing her BA. His father works in another city and visits once a month. He sends some money home to help with expenses.  His grandmother takes care of their house. His family’s monthly income is about $200.  Although the house is neat and clean, it is in poor condition and needs to be repaired.

 

Your sponsorship funds support Muhammad's medical care and education.