Shahid
Ref# INGH026

About Me
My name is Shahid. I'm a 15-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 5, 2004.
Geography
Country

I live in India.

Program Partner Organization Name

Hemophilia Society - Guwahati Chapter (INGH)

Age Range

11 to 15

Diagnosis

Hemophilia A - Factor VIII

Severity

Severe

Monthly Family Income Range

$50-$100

My Story

 

 

Hello

This is Shahid. He is 14 years old. He lives in India and he has severe hemophilia A. He is in the 7th grade at school. His favorite subject is English.  He has missed about 40 days of school in the last six months due to bleeds. He works very hard to keep up with his schooling.  He would like to be a teacher when he grows up. When he is not at school he spends time with his family, talking and playing indoor games.

In the past 12 months he has traveled to the nearest hospital for treatment of severe bleeds in his right elbow and knee. The hospital is 120 kilometers from his home and he travels there by train.  It costs about 40% of his father’s daily wage to get there. It would help him to have physiotherapy but the clinic is a long distance from his house.

Shahid lives with his mother and father, and four sisters. His father is a daily wage laborer and his mother takes care of the family and their house. Their monthly income is about $60

They live in a village, in a house made of wood and tin. It has two rooms. They cook meals in the courtyard outside their home, over a charcoal fire. And their get water from a spigot in their village. Their house needs repairs. The walls in the back of the house are damaged and they need to be repaired with cement and mud to protect them from further damage.

Your sponsorship funds will support Shahid's medical care and his education.