Nabib
Ref# INDG023

About Me
My name is Nabib. I'm a 17-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 12, 2005.
Geography
Country

I live in India.

Program Partner Organization Name

Hemophilia Society - Durgapur Chapter (INDG)

Diagnosis

Hemophilia A - Factor VIII

Severity

Severe

Monthly Family Income Range

$100-$150

My Story

Hello

 

My name is Nabib. I am 13 years old. I live in India and I have severe hemophilia A.  I am in the 8th grade. I have missed about 90 days of school in the past six months due to bleeds. These absences have not affected my ability to do well in school.  I am making very good progress. I would like to be a Doctor when I grow up.

 

My favorite subjects are English and Bengali. I am happy to say that I won a prize at an art competition in school. When I am not in school I like to play indoor games and watch television.

 

This past year I attended the new patient orientation camp at my hemophilia organization.

 

In the past six months I have had to go to the hospital for treatment of bleeds in my knees and ankles. The hospital is about 45 kilometers from my home and I traveled there by bus. My right ankle has been severely affected by bleeds.

 

At home, my minor bleeds are treated with ice and rest.  I also receive physiotherapy.

 

I live with my mother and father and my twin brother. My father is a farmer and mother is a housewife. My brother is also in school.

 

My family’s monthly income is about $120. We live in a village. We own our house which is made of mud. We do not have an indoor kitchen or indoor plumbing. We cook on a gas burner in the courtyard outside our house. Our running water is also located in the courtyard. We are fortunate to have a refrigerator. But our house is in need of repair. The floors and walls are damaged and the roof leaks.

 

Your sponsorship funds will help me to continue my education and support my medical treatments.