Bijaya
Ref# NP113

About Me
My name is Bijaya. I'm a 17-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 30, 2005.
Geography
Country

I live in Nepal.

Program Partner Organization Name

Nepal Hemophilia Society (NP)

Diagnosis

Hemophilia A - Factor VIII

Severity

Severe

Monthly Family Income Range

$50-$100

My Story

My name is Bijaya and I am 12 years old. I recently started going to primary school. I enjoy going to school and learning with my new friends. The school is 7km from my house. On days I am unable to walk, I stay home to rest and recuperate. My favorite subjects so far are Nepali and art. I absolutely love to draw! I have dreams of being in the army when I grows up. In my free time, I like to play games with friends.

I have been diagnosed with severe hemophilia A. I tend to experience bleeds in my knees. I have been treated with infusions of factor and with Tranzymine acid. The mobility in my right knee joint has been impaired as a result of past bleeds. I am unable to straighten my right leg properly. I would benefit from physical therapy, but services are not available in the rural area I live in. The nearest hospital is over 40km from my house which takes my family 2 hours to get to by public transportation. This great distance makes accessing health care difficult and poses a threat in the event of bleeding emergency.

I live with my parents and three siblings. My father (Tophan, age 36) and mother (Kamala, age 34) both work as farmers. Despite their hard work, together they are only able to earn $60 a month. With this minimal income, my family struggles to meet even their most basic needs. My older brother (Yograj, age 17) and two sisters (Sarita, age 13 and Sita, age 10) are all students. Yograj also has hemophilia. My family speaks our native language of Nepali in the home. No one in the family can read or write in English.

My family lives in a 3-room house in a village in the far western region of Nepal. Our home is made of wood and mud. It has basic utilities but does not have a stove. My family prepares our meals over a wood or charcoal fire.

My family look forward to receiving your sponsorship gift. My parents plan to use the funds to support my medical and educational needs.