Sundaramoorthi S.

About Me
My name is Sundaramoorthi and I'm a 10-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 16, 2009.
Geography
Country

I live in India.

Program Partner Organization Name

Hemophilia Society - Madras Chapter (INCH)

Age Range

6 to 10

Diagnosis

Hemophilia A - Factor VIII

Severity

Severe

Monthly Family Income Range

$50-$100

My Story

 

 Hello!

My name is Sundaramoorthi. I am 10 years old and in the 4th grade. My school is only 500 meters from my home. On days that I cannot walk to school my father carries me. My favorite subject is science. I am making very good progress at school despite regularly missing class due to my bleeds. I aspire to one day become a doctor. I enjoy playing at the local park when I am not at school.

 

I have been diagnosed with severe hemophilia A. This past year, I have experienced major bleeds in my elbows, knees and ankles. The nearest clinic where I can receive medical care is 2 hours from my home. The cost of public transportation is $2 per trip. The distance and expense prevent me from receiving care as often as I should and poses a risk in the event of bleeding emergency.

 

 

I live with my father and mother. My father, Senthil, is self-employed, repairing audio equipment and televisions. He earns approximately $100 a month. My mother, Aruna, cares for our home and my medical needs. Our family speaks Tamil in the home.

 

 

We live in the town of Maraimalai Nagar, India in a two-room house. Our home is made of concrete. It has electricity and a gas stove to cook our meals on. We do not have a refrigerator or indoor plumbing. We need to get water outside in our courtyard.

 

Your sponsorship funds will help to pay for my medical care and education needs.