Hakeem Ullah Hayat

About Me
My name is Hakeem Ullah and I'm a 9-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 2, 2010.
Geography
Country

I live in Pakistan.

Program Partner Organization Name

Hemophilia Care of Pakistan (PKHC)

Age Range

6 to 10

Diagnosis

Factor VII

Monthly Family Income Range

$0-$50

My Story

 

Hello!

My name is Hakeem Ullah. I am 9 years old and in the 2nd grade. My school is 10-15 minutes to walk from my home. I am a diligent student and am making very good progress despite occasionally missing school due to my bleeds. When I am at home, I do my school work and help around the house.

I have been diagnosed with factor VII deficiency. The treatment center takes 5 minutes to get to by motor bike. Unfortunately, factor is often not available so most of my bleeds are treated with rest and ice. My joints are currently in good condition and I am not in need of physiotherapy at this time. I tend to have frequent bleeds in my mouth due to complications with my teeth.

 

 

My large family lives in the village of Bannu, Pakistan. I live with my parents, four sisters and two brothers, along with my aunt and cousin. My father works as a manual laborer, earning $50 a month. My 7-year-old brother, Zadee, and I are the only children in our family attending school. My family speaks Urdu in our home. No members of my family are able to read or write in English.

Tragically, in 2017 my baby brother, Khatib, died from severe bleeding following his circumcision. It was not known that he had a bleeding disorder. His death was a hard loss for my entire family.

 

 

My family rents a small two-room house for $35 a month. Our home is constructed of mud with a tin roof. It is in very poor condition and requires major repairs. We have electricity but do not have a refrigerator. Our home has running water. My mother cooks our meals over a charcoal fire in the courtyard. Our staple diet consists of wheat, rice and vegetables.

 

Your sponsorship funds will help to pay for my health care, food and education.