Kamaljit
Ref# INGH021

About Me
My name is Kamaljit. I'm a 22-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 9, 2001.
Geography
Country

I live in India.

Program Partner Organization Name

Hemophilia Society - Guwahati Chapter (INGH)

Diagnosis

Hemophilia A - Factor VIII

Severity

Severe

Monthly Family Income Range

$50-$100

My Story

 

Hello!

 

My name is Kamaljit. I am 17 years old and in the 12th grade. With hard work, I have made very good progress at school despite missing 50 days of school because of my medical condition. Science is my favorite subject. I would like to be an engineer one day. When I am at home, I try to help out with chores the best I can, and I enjoy hanging out with my brother Nabajyoti. My brother also has hemophilia, so we have a lot in common.

 

 

I have been diagnosed with severe hemophilia A. I receive treatment at a hemophilia treatment center that is 40 kilometers from my home. We travel to the treatment center by bus, which is expensive for my very poor family. In 2017, mu brother was admitted to the Medical center in Vellore to have surgery on his elbow. This surgery helped my brother but left my family with a large financial burden that has led to ongoing financial difficulties and debt.

 

 

I live with my father, Keshav (age 44), my mother, Runu (age 38), and brother, Nabajyoti (age 19). My father earns $80 per month as a day laborer. We live in a village outside of Guwahati, India. Our home is made of mud and tin. It has electricity but does not have running water, indoor toilet facilities or a refrigerator. Meals are cooked on an open fire.

 

 

My previous sponsor has discontinued their participation in the program, so I am in need of a new sponsor. Funds we receive will go towards my medical and educational expenses.